Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm an IT/Network consultant in Boston so am on the road a lot going to client sites. One of the most frustrating things is running out of laptop or cellphone battery power. So, I decided to add a 110 volt AC adapter to charge if the car is off OR on. The power converter, a small Duracell DRINVP175, fits easily inside of the console so wiring is totally hidden.

Also, I decided to use the blank area (where a standard dashboard is located) to made/mount a custom smartphone stand I made from scrap plastic and run power and audio cleanly to the radio head-unit. It's a Samsung Android based phone and there is a free app called "C affine" that keeps the display on all of the time, great for GPS and listening to Pandora on the run! Below are pics of my efforts and a little more info. :cheers:

The blank that came with the car was a PERFECT spot to add the AC outlet. I carefully cut our the slots and for the plug. Below that is a short extension that runs to the power converter.

It's perfect for charging cell phone batteries or may laptop!!

Mounted underneath the console is a kill switch to the AC converter. I added this because the AC converter is connected to an "always on" 12v lead, so I didn't want to drain the battery when not in use. So, switch on/red = AC on. Off = AC off :) That way there I can lock up my car, go to my job, and have my stuff charged by the time I get back. BTW, I've left this on for days and the draw is so small that I really don't have to worry about the battery dying.