Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there!

I was wondering if anyone's done a successful install of this?

I bought the parts but I guess I'm missing the harness to connect everything. I'm pretty new at this car modding business so I'm pretty lost on how to work the wiring for the lights.

Anyone? :O

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
I bought the parts but I guess I'm missing the harness to connect everything. I'm pretty new at this car modding business so I'm pretty lost on how to work the wiring for the lights.

Anyone? :O
There are 3 options to wire up the lights:

• as manual "city lights" that you turn on whenever you want to. Ideally they would be powered by your Accessory circuit (same as the cigarette lighter and the radio) so you don't inadvertently drain your battery if you leave them on.
  • as Fog Lights, manually controlled but the switch only receives power when the parking lights are switched on
  • as Daytime Running Lights (DRLs) that come on whenever the car ignition is on. Ideally there is a dimmer circuit to lessen the brightness when the parking lights are switched on.
These lights would likely be very bright, enough to distract other drivers at night. They are originally intended as DRLs and likely won't work very well as fog lights. I'd recommend that you wire them as DRLs.

Assuming DRLs, you'll need to tap off the Ignition circuit (grey wire, can be found under the steering column) and ideally have a mechanical relay that automatically switches the DRLs to be powered by a dimmer circuit when the parking lights are switched on at night.

Remember that since these are likely LEDs that they have a polarity (+ and -) so if they don't light up at first, reverse the polarity.