Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey

Ok so I'm beyond frustrated at this point. I need help!

Soon after buying my xb, a friend of mine gave me an old 240 watt max amp along with a 12" sub in a sealed box. So all I needed was an amp kit and I was set. So I have installed a few amps in my day, I'm no expert but I understand the basics to installing. I installed the equipment my friend had given me into my box with no issues. It worked great, I mean it added a decent amount of bass considering it was free. Well after several months I wanted more bass out of my sub. So I thought easy fix upgrade my amp to a higher wattage because 240 watt max isn't much and I knew the sub wasn't being pushed to its full potential. So I bought a 400watt max (150 watt rms) 2 channel amp.

Hooked it up bass is much stronger BUT when I turn the volume up to 20-25 the sub cuts off. Thought it was a faulty amp so I returned it and bought another one, same issue. Ok so clearly not a faulty amp. I thought my amp kit was cheap so I upgraded to a 4 gauge kit. Same issue. I thought it was my ground I tried 5 different locations and same problem. Thought maybe a bad sub, bought a new sub, same issue! I redid my remote turn on, it changed nothing. I rewired the box, the amp the sub. I've adjusted gain has no effect on the cut out point. I have tried literally every setting on the hi ten times over. I'm so sick of this problem. Please help, any ideas or input is greatly appreciated

· Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Grey wire on back of hu, I believe it's acc on. Should I try a different remote location? Where did u guys yap into?

· Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The amp has a blue led that glows when it's on. And when u turn the volume up it starts to dim and go out completely.

· Registered
185 Posts