Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So. My bills have recently been cut in half and my income has gone up, so of course I will be adding to my car. I'm wanting to amp my doors, 2 10's under te seats, and 1-2 12's. I have 700w and a 12 now with no issues. I will be doing the big 3 before anything else. I'm still learning all of this and I'm not sure when a high output alternator is needed. I want to not have to do that quite yet. Anyone with some knowledge would be great. I'm willing to do a second battery, capacitors, whatever. Any help is awesome

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
I will be adding to my car...2 10's under the seats...

I assume you mean two 10" subwoofers under the front seats. Please be aware:
  • the driver's and front passenger's floorpans under the front seats are not the same shape so you will likely need different shaped boxes for each side
  • under the front passenger's seat is a seat occupancy computer that will need to be relocated higher up in the seat (a number of people, including me, have done this)
  • under the driver's seat mounted on the floor is a yaw sensor for the Traction Control System, if you put a sub there you will need to relocate that sensor to a protected and level position (I know of only one person who has done this)
  • you will have to sacrifice rear passenger toe space and/or block the heater ducts that run under the front seats to the rear passenger's toe spaces in order to obtain the volume specified by the manufacturer for housing 10" subs
For the above reasons I chose to run only a single 8" sub under the front passenger seat. Many others have done the same. Some have a single 10" sub under the front passenger seat, and only 1 (or perhaps a handful) have dual 10" subs under the front seats. Don't let that stop you, but just wanted you to have some foresight of what you are up against.

Have fun and keep us posted!

·
Registered
335 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·