Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to air suspension and i know a bit about coilovers and I want to lower my xB but I'm not sure all of the pros and cons about the two. Also would like to know what brands you guys would recommend for both.

Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
457 Posts
Main difference is the cost and adjusability.

Air costs more than coils but you have the option to choose a safe ride height and still slam it for showing off. Second to that is air requires more maintanence and has more parts to go wrong over time.

·
Registered
457 Posts
With the proper precautions bags can work fine in a winter environment. Water traps and air brake anti-freeze help a lot, also emptying the water trap often. Have a look over on www.airsociety.net , there are quite a few folks running their systems in the northern states and Canada on there.

·
Registered
28 Posts
I'm in IL too and from what I heard around here with the guys really into bags (s10 guys, etc) is that overall bags have more issues in in extreme cold for a daily driver. Most guys on bags I know dont even drive their vehicle over the winter so I don't know if it would be good for a daily driver...

I myself debated for a long time on this and just went with a regular drop kit.

·
Registered
164 Posts
I would go coilovers just for the lack of maintenance with all of the extra systems, plus no air tank or extra lines have to be run to install them.

You can still adjust them down for shows, and raise them when needed. It takes a little extra time vs. the bags which are just a switch, and you may not be able to totally sit it on frame, but from day to day I feel like an air set up would be too much effort.

·
Registered
164 Posts
I don't have any on my car but a friend has Tien on his 240 and he seems to like them. But he also has sway bars and strut towers to help with rigidity.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·