Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
City commute for work and home with an occasional trip on a weekend for fishing.
I am new to scion and I am finding the options, accessories and after market a little large.
I dont care how it looks at all. I am 6'-6" tall so its the headroom, and reliablity that I am attracted to.

any suggestions would be apprecited.

· Registered
243 Posts
they did share the same 2.4L engine 'til 2011 when they came with the 2.5L. they share similar parts, but not the same frame. i believe the camry has a longer wheel base.

· Registered
39 Posts
I have been reading this site. Is the camry and xb built on a simiar frame?
The engine is from the 2007-2011 Camry, but I'm pretty sure the xB's chassis is based on the Corolla. I like to think of the car as a Corolla wagon. (So is the Toyota Matrix, but it's smaller.)

If you're looking to accessorize, the first thing I think you should do is spend $80 on a TRD performance air filter. (I'm sure there are cheaper aftermarket versions.) They all do the same thing: the car becomes slightly faster and slightly more fuel efficient. I dropped one in my '08 xB after a 6 months of driving, and I noticed an improvement.

The second thing: if you haven't already, get the sport leather steering wheel for $300, maybe $390 with installation. It's a great piece, and really should come standard. It elevates the feeling of whole cabin.

Or, if you're out to save money and have time for a project, order one of those Wheelskins stichable leather wheel covers.

Since your car is primarily for commuting, the other options like the intake, exhaust, and swaybars won't do much for you. Maybe the lighting options for the cupholders and door sills will be fun.

· Registered
243 Posts
i don't believe he owns an xB, yet! those are nice things to consider when he does.

· Registered
782 Posts