Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, if I didn't know better, I would swear my front bumper has surface rust! You know ... that pesky little bubbling under the paint that is mushy when you press on it. It looks just like that on my plastic front bumper, and, when combined with the aerodynamics of traveling 80 MPH for roughly 2 hours / day and the salt/sand combination acting as a sandblasting agent, I now have spots! Maybe I should paint then white and go for a "reverse" dalmation look ....

Anybody else encounter this, and if so, what did you do to resolve the issue?

Thanks!

============================
2011 Black Sand Pearl automatic, 20% tint + brow, TRD lowering springs, factory Alpine deck, factory Bazooka powered sub, Drag DR-9 flat black 18" rims with 225/40/18 tires

·
Registered
151 Posts
Can you post some pics?

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am working on getting some pics ... not too easy to make out what is going on in the ones that I have taken, due to the car being black and all ... Should have some up by first of next week. Going to talk to the dealer about it on Saturday when I am in for service ...

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
OK ... FINALLY got some pics (don't ask ... there has been a LOT going on and some pics that were lost when I transitioned to a new phone). Anyway ... here is the current state of my front bumper paint. The first pic is very similar to how it started (since I lost those pics) with what looked like a surface rust bubble under the paint that started chipping away. The next two pics are what that spot ballooned into due to aero forces and road dirt / spray having a sandblasting effect while driving the interstate at 80+ MPH 100+ miles a day ...

Anyone else have anything similar to this happen to their xB?? Or any knowledge of underlying causes?? There has been NO collision, BTW ...

Attachments

·
Registered
72 Posts