Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy!

I would very much like to upgrade the head unit in my 2008 xb, but I am a little overwhelmed by what is available.
Wishlist: bluetooth streaming, navigation (would be nice, but not a deal breaker if not available), touchscreen, and keeping the audio controls on the steering wheel functional. A multicolor display would be nice too.
The list is long, I know. But I have no experience in audio and after a rather lengthy internet search I'm still not sure where to go.
What have you guys used and had a good experience with?!

· Registered
1,033 Posts
I think you should first decide on the head unit size, since that will divide the field of choices. Since you want a touch screen that means a Double DIN unit.

By the time you get up to the Double DIN touch screen level, most units have multiple color selection built in. Check the specs to be sure. Some units offer "multi-zone" color selection too.

Keeping the steering wheel controls is easy as long as the unit accepts an adapter. From what I've been reading this one is the easiest to set up:
Axxess ASWC-1 (ASWC1) Universal Steering Wheel Control Interface

In my opinion navigation in a head unit is not worth the additional cost. Most smart phones have the app built in although the screen is obviously smaller.

Crutchfield and Sonic Electronix have nice shopping guides that are very helpful:
Crutchfield: Car Stereo, Speakers, Home Theater, LED LCD TV, Cameras
Car Audio Stereo - Car Subwoofers - Car Amplifiers and Speakers

Crutchfield costs more but their site has more specific information. Sonic tends to offer their installation kits for free whereas Crutchfield may charge for them.