Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, Noob here. SO last night i replaced my stock speakers with some Rockford Fosgate p165 punch. After installing the front left I tested it to see how it would sound. It sounds awful. No bass and when I turn it past 20 it gets distorted. I am still running the stock HU (not the premium) and was wondering if that is the problem. I plan on switching it out soon with the Pioneer 4400 but don't yet have the funds to do so. Is there a factory amp and it is set wrong or is it something else? I haven't switched the rest of the speakers yet because after hearing it I don't want to lose out on what little bass I have with the stocks. I am new to xB's (my previous ride was an SVT Focus) and new to car audio. Can someone please point me in the right direction?

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
From what I've been reading, others on this forum have similar experiences, they were disappointed with lack of bass after replacing the front door speakers. The bass from the front door stock speakers are pretty decent, that's why I'm hesitant to replace mine. I replaced my rear door speakers first, than added an amplified subwoofer. I still have the stock base 2011 head unit. (I'm on a budget...)

Have you already played with your stock head unit's tone settings? One setting is for what type of car you have (I think the default setting is TC, try the setting for xB) the other tone settings are for Bass and Treble.

On my 2011 I access the tone controls by holding down the lower left button, then when the new display pops up I adjust the Fader/Balance/Treble/Bass settings via the main knob. Your 2012 will be different but perhaps similar. Check your manual.

·
Registered
284 Posts
Thats why you have stock... You need more amp to push more power to those speakers...sorry for caps at work lol

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·