Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK so I started painting the interior parts of my dash and I have a few questions. BTW I have 09 Release 6.0

1. How can I remove the silver pices on the steering wheel?

2. I am painting the door trim that has the window buttons and the lock buttons- how to I keep the handle caompartment where the screw is from getting painted? I tried tape but it came out very crocked...any ideas?

3. How can i remove the guage covers around the speedometer so I can paint it?

Thanks for the help guys! I did a search so if I missed a post please let me know where to go.

·
Registered
528 Posts
1. Torx bit from behind the wheel. Either a 10 or 11 Torx, I can not recall. Make sure the battery has been disconnected for about 5 minutes or so prior to removing the air bag. Do NOT want it going off in your face. Especially with a screwdriver in your hand... Rest is self explanitory.

2. Could tape, then use an X-acto knife to cut it out how you want it. I just had my painter paint the inside of the bucket. No big deal.

3. Have to pop the surround that extends from the bezel itself, all the way to the driver's side vent, off. Then you'll have to remove the 4 Phillips head screws holding the gauge cluster in. Unplug the wiring, unscrew the back of the panel, pop the clear part off, then you should be able to remove it. Pretty self explanitory. :D

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
xseveredveganx said:
1. Torx bit from behind the wheel. Either a 10 or 11 Torx, I can not recall. Make sure the battery has been disconnected for about 5 minutes or so prior to removing the air bag. Do NOT want it going off in your face. Especially with a screwdriver in your hand... Rest is self explanitory.

2. Could tape, then use an X-acto knife to cut it out how you want it. I just had my painter paint the inside of the bucket. No big deal.