Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've done a lot of research and finally found a setup that I think is fit, but since I'm new to this I think I'll ask for opinions from people who have done this before.

Amplifier
Subs x2
Enclosure
Wires

The amplifier is 870 RMS at 2 ohms and the speakers are 400 watts RMS each. From what I've read I shouldn't need a capacitor or upgraded alternator/battery or anything. But the amplifier is class AB so I don't know if that would change anything too much.

Any feedback or suggestions would be great :)

·
Registered
781 Posts
Well, I was hoping others would step in, but I see there's been no activity :(! I didn't take this path, but I've worked with speakers before and so my question is whether the Pioneer drivers have a resonance frequency reasonably matched to the enclosure. I'd say it's best to be at least similar to the resonance of the drivers suggested in the advertisement (I'm presuming the enclosure is optimized for them). As for the amplifier, never heard of that brand before, but if you have good reason other than total price to select it, hopefully it'll be fine. Looks like your emphasis is bass over the rest of the audio range, which is cool. If not, then you may eventually revisit the door drivers.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Does the resonance frequency just change what the size the box should be? Because the drivers are recommended 24.1 - 49.5 litres, which averages to 1.3 cubic feet, and the enclosure is 1.25 cubic feet per chamber.

I am on a budget, so price is a factor, but I did more research on that brand and it doesn't get all that great of reviews. Hifonics seems to be a decent budget brand and I found this which has all the right specs and features but also the reviews to back it up. Have you heard much about Hifonics?