Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a complete noob when it comes to wheels & tires. I just got my new bone stock 2012 xB. My question is can I put bigger (maybe 18") wheels and tires without requiring any adjustment to any other component in the car? I was reading online and it says that if you go bigger, it may throw some sensors and saftey features off. What's the deal with xB?

·
Registered
781 Posts
No problem, just make sure the combined height of tire and rim are very close to OE. The other primary consideration is if you increase the width of the tire from OE, then you could run into fender clearance issues, particularly when turning. Another consideration is typically, the taller rim plus lower profile tire weighs more than the OE, so the usual experience is gas mileage and acceleration go down, whereas braking distance goes up, however; the cool factor is definitely a win :)!

·
Registered
57 Posts
To Trevor's point, everything has a trade-off. The factory setup is probably the most efficient for the vehicle but looks lame. Style is up to the individual but fact of the matter is if you don't want to trade one thing for another, you have to leave it stock.

I have definitely lost mpg and increased the stopping distance. AND my MPH is off by about 2 mph at 60 and 5 mph at 75.....this ratio increases by mph. I GPS'd a few trips on the highway to and from work and benchmarked some specific mph readings and just adjusted my driving accordingly.

Gotta pay to play.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
MiniFridge, thats exactly how I want mine to looke like :) very nice.

So what about the scion website? when you build&price, they give you option for bigger wheels. Does the dealer adjust the mph and braking issue after installing bigger wheels? I understand mpg issue will stay.

·
Registered
57 Posts