Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone. I'm not a newbie to forums, but I sure am to the xB forum! I have a question about some new wheels that I put on the xB a few days ago.

I have been wanting wheels for a while now. I finally found a clean set of 2012 tC wheels (with tires!) on craigslist. I went and checked them out and they were in great shape, so I took them home and threw them on. I couldn't be happier with the look. They go awesome with the stingray metallic. Classy, not gaudy. Toyota center caps too; the guy I bought them from had them on a Camry. I like them.

Anyway, the question I have is about the TPMS sensors. My light came on recently. Flashing for about a minute then on steady which, as I read in the manual, indicates an error acquiring tire pressures. Seeing as how the steelies are in the basement for storage, that makes sense.

I have done some research on the subject regarding the relearn, apparently the TPMS reset button is to the right underneath the dashboard? I haven't looked for it yet. But I was hoping someone who has put new wheels on their xB could share their experience with it with regards to what specifically had to be done to re-sync the senors. Is it as simple as taking it to a tire shop, having them hit the sensors in the tires with the reset machine (I found that online, considered just buying one but too costly at $200) and just press the car's TPMS reset button? A local shop said with some cars it was that easy and they could do that procedure for $25, which is a lot more reasonable.

Any help would be appreciated. I don't want to pay the $75 the dealer wants to re-initialize them if I can't help it. Thank you in advance!

· Registered
10 Posts