Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After watching motor week last night,I found out that the TPMS sensors in my wheels have batteries that will go dead with no way to replace them and the sensors must be replaced at ~ $200. Nice! Another way to get money from us.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
661 Posts
Or deal with the light and check your tires the 'old fashioned way' and actually look at them and or check the pressure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
601 Posts
Or deal with the light and check your tires the 'old fashioned way' and actually look at them and or check the pressure.
I have a tire that's been going low a few times - over a pretty big time frame, and my TPMS kicks the light on. I have looked at the tires and they weren't obviously low, was definitely not noticeable, but the pressure was like 25 psi each time. Doh. I'd personally keep using the TPMS, just my opinion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
976 Posts
I just changed my tires and rims I have on my 2012 to our 2014 and the low tire indicator comes on now. Dealer wants 100 bucks to reset the computer $%^&&*&^%#$
I've mentioned in other threads that I'm seriously thinking about buying this:

http://www.amazon.com/ATEQ-QuickSet-TPMS-Reset-Tool/dp/B008SCWXN4/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1412802831&sr=8-2&keywords=tpms+reset+tool

It stores 2 sets of tires, one for summer, one for winter. Now though, both sets of my tires came from Costco and I think they will swap tires and reprogram it for me for free.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
448 Posts
Or you could buy the $25 techstream cable on ebay, accquire the techstream software (can't elaborate, but google is your friend), and program them yourself... Read the codes from the 2012 using techstream, hook up to the 2014 and put those in. Make sure and write down the 2014 codes for wherever those sensors went (the only way to get the codes is to break down the wheels/tires and look at them, get a RFID scanner to scan them)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
457 Posts
I just changed my tires and rims I have on my 2012 to our 2014 and the low tire indicator comes on now. Dealer wants 100 bucks to reset the computer $%^&&*&^%#$
If I remember correctly, America's tire charged me $20 to do it. Call a few tire shops and see what they will charge to do it.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top