Scion XB Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
266 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys (and gals). This DIY guide will show you how to safely remove the stock air box from the 2008 Scion xB, as well as how to install the Weapon-R Secret Weapon intake. For the most part, these instructions can be adapted for use with any intake system. That being said, I'm fairly new to the tuner world so I've probably made up my own names for some of the parts, but the pictures should clearly illustrate what I'm referring to in each step. I can edit the pics and steps if anyone can give me some recommendations on how to make this guide more professional and/or easier to understand.

Allot yourself about two hours of time if you're new to under-the-hood work like I am. It took me about that long while taking pics and searching for tools. Before you attempt installation, make sure you choose a stable, dust-free and debris-free environment -- preferably an auto garage. The installation shown here took place out in my driveway in the blistering cold. Probably not the best idea. Remember kids, "Don't Do What Donny Dont Does!"

Tools Required:
  • Standard Philips Head Screwdriver
  • Standard Flat Head Screwdriver
  • 10mm Socket Driver
  • T15 Torx Screwdriver (If you dont have one you can pick one up at Sears for about $2)
  • Pliers (They need to grip pretty far, don't use needlenose!)
  • Scissors
Step 01: Remove the Engine Cover
This is what it looks like underneath the hood of the '08 xB. Use the 10mm socket driver to remove the two screws shown, and lift off the engine cover. Set them aside and do not lose the screws; you will need them later.

Step 02: Remove Airflow Sensor and PCV Hose