Scion XB Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got my RS9.0 2 months ago, and it's a blast to drive. It came with the Pioneer Premium head unit. I'm a mobile computer tech and basically live out my car in the daytime. I'd like to get better sound. However, I'm a noob with car audio , and am on a budget - so

Bought the xb2 bazooka subwoofer off ebay for $180 and had it installed by respected audio shop in town. (Asked them to try to install backup camera at same time, but they couldn't figure out how to do it with the head unit.)

Observations and questions:

1. Bass sounds muddy and indistinct.
2. Mids and Highs sound harsh to me.
3. All the subwoofer controls on head unit are lit, turn off and on, volume indicator goes up and down etc, but don't have any effect on the subwoofer. Is this normal?

I don't have any tools (long story) at this time to remove subwoofer and move the phase switch that I've read about up or down. Could this be why it doesn't sound good, or was it installed incorrectly, or are my expectations too high?

I just ordered a pair of Boston Acoustics SC60 speakers for front door, as recommended by AJ Gil here. I'm hoping that will improve sound. Suggestions?

Thanks,

mandomax

· Registered
782 Posts
Regarding the bass, you have to realize the xB2 Bazooka subwoofer is designed to piggyback off the front door speakers (makes it a universal solution). That means what you hear is what the HU is directing to the doors, not a subwoofer, so HU subwoofer controls will have no effect. Though, if you try to rolloff the door speaker bass and direct it to the subwoofer, then you will simply lose the bass entirely. Also, you're responsible for selecting the subwoofer phase (switch behind the sub) and likewise the level (rotary control front of the sub). From your description, sounds like the level is too high and you may also want to fiddle with the phase switch.